CaféX Meetings allows users to see a presenter's entire screen, or an application window.
For compatible browsers and versions, see: Browser and Endpoint Support.
Note: Users can install the Chrome browser extension before joining a meeting, see: Chrome Web Store.
Important: You can only share your screen when you are using the Firefox or Chrome browser, or share your application when you are using the Chrome browser. Meeting participants who are using any other browser cannot share their screen, but they can view a screen shared by another participant.
Browser specific interfaces to manage your screen share will be presented to you and cannot be customized.
To share your screen:
- If you are using Chrome or Firefox, when in a meeting, click on Share to display the Sharing panel,
then click Share.
- Only one person can share their screen at a time.
- Chrome or Firefox need permission to access your camera to be able to share your screen
- You must unmute your video before sharing your screen
- If you are sharing for the first time using Chrome, it prompts you to install the extension CaféX Meetings—Screen Sharing.
Note: You can install the Chrome browser extension at any time, or if Chrome does not prompt you—see: Chrome Web Store.
- On the Share your screen permission window, select:
either Your Entire Screen (Chrome or Firefox)
or Application Window (Chrome)
- Select the appropriate screen or application window from those available to share.
- Click Share.
- Meetings notifies you at the bottom of the screen that it is sharing your screen—select one of the following options:
- Leave this message displayed on your screen as a reminder,
- Click on Stop Sharing to conclude your screen sharing but remain in the conference, or
- Click on Hide to continue sharing your screen, but stop displaying the reminder message
- Your display changes so that you can see the contents of what you are sharing—that is, what others are seeing.
Important: If the screen that you are sharing includes your Meetings browser window, a receding set of nested screen images is displayed—change to another browser tab to share that tab, or minimize the browser to share another application, as appropriate, to remove this potentially confusing display. Or share an application rather than your whole screen, if appropriate.
- To stop sharing your screen, either:
- On the notification bar displayed at the bottom of the screen (if you have not already clicked on Hide), click on Stop Sharing, or
- Click on Document Share to display the Sharing panel, and click Stop.
- The Meetings screen rearranges back to the normal display.
While you are sharing, you can use a spotlight to draw attention to an area of your screen. To send a spotlight, you click the relevant part of your shared window inside the meeting interface. Your spotlight will be sent to every participant.
To let other participants who are not sharing, use their spotlights, tick the Spotlight option after the share begins:
Updating the Extension
Occasionally, the Chrome browser extension may require updating. Users will be prompted to update their extension as necessary.